Religious Studies aims to promote religious understanding and appreciation of people from all backgrounds. Religious Studies equips pupils to meet the circumstances of living in modern society, and become good citizens. It promotes a sympathetic understanding of religions, including both those that are locally represented and those which have been formative in the lives of people in the history of the world. Students will be challenged with questions about belief, values, meaning, purpose and truth, enabling them to develop their own attitudes towards religious issues. Through Religious Studies, pupils gain an appreciation of how religion, philosophy and ethics form the basis of our culture. They develop analytical and critical thinking skills, the ability to work with abstract ideas, leadership and research skills.
Curriculum Overview
Year 7 Year 8
  • My identity – freedom of thought, speech, tolerance and respect
  • Inspirational figures
  • Cover 3 main religions: Hinduism, Buddhism, Sikhism
  • Beliefs
  • Teachings
  • Sources
  • Practices, ways of life
  • Identity, diversity and belongings
  • The origins of life
  • Belief in God
  • The purpose and meaning of life – a Humanistic approach
  • Cover 3 main religions: Judaism, Christianity, Islam
  • Beliefs
  • Teachings
  • Sources
  • Practices, ways of life
  • Identity, diversity and belongings
  • Comparison of beliefs
  • Religion, wealth and poverty
Year 9 Year 10 Year 11
Theme D: Religion, Peace and Conflict

  • Religion, violence, terrorism and war
  • Religion and belief in 21st century conflict

Theme E: Religion and Punishment

  • Religion, crime and the causes of crime
  • Religion and punishment

Theme A: Religion, Relationships and Family

  • Sex, marriage and divorce
  • Families and gender equality

Theme F: Religion, Human Rights and Social Justice

  • Christian beliefs and practices
  • Islamic beliefs and practices
Theme F – Religion, Human Rights and Social Justice

  • Human rights
  • Wealth and poverty
  • The study of religious beliefs, teachings and practices
  • Christianity – key beliefs; Jesus Christ and salvation; worship and festivals, role of church and the local and worldwide community
  • Islam – Key beliefs; authority; worship; duties and festivals
  • Pupils take their GCSE examinations at the end of Year 10, so there is no Year 11 syllabus.

Internal assessments take place every half-term.

KS4 Exam Board Specification: AQA GCSE Religious Studies (8062)

Enrichment Offer

The Department runs a number of visits to various places of worship in West Yorkshire, and invites faith representatives from the local community into the Academy to discuss issues of faith and identity in our multicultural society. Intervention sessions to consolidate prior learning and ensure maximum progress are at the heart of our delivery model.